the revolution will be documented!

(“we are many that dream of revolution” MC) project by dream listener.

When we first arrived, we walked around. A limo and wedding party drove by slowly honking. A woman grabbed me by my arm and said “let me see your sign”, at that point I was carrying a blank piece of cardboard. Then the limo drove off and she was like, “shoot” she had missed a unique photo-op.

Jordan said something about how at protests you used to hear chanting… but now it is all about getting photos of text on the internet. I have never seen so many cameras, documenting, in one place in all my life. I am curious about what will happen with all the images taken of us and this sign today? What will they do? Or not do?

About workequalsworthequalsinnocence

Working with animation, video, painting, drawing, installation and intervention, my interdisciplinary practice examines the complex position of culture within neoliberal capitalism and critiques modes of social control, while exploring the potential for art to function as a site of resistance. I am specifically interested in how modes of violence are perpetuated collectively through popular narratives, concepts of justice and denial of accountability. Frequently engaging with communities and collectives, my practice eschews individual authorship in favour of collaboration. This has included an ongoing commitment to working with women and youth who are in conflict with the law, through the creation of art projects in prisons as well as at numerous centres that support marginalized people. In 2008, I completed an MFA through the Public Art and New Artistic Strategies program at the Bauhaus University (Weimar, Germany). My work has been shown nationally and internationally in festivals, screenings, artist run centres and museums. I am currently employed as an Assistant Professor of Studio Arts at Concordia University. http://jessicamaccormackrmack.tumblr.com/
This entry was posted in t-shirt and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the revolution will be documented!

  1. The pictures are beautiful, incidentally. I was telling someone about how snap-happy the whole event was, and they were like “and how is that different from any other moment in contemporary society?” – somehow, it just felt different. It was as if it was ALL ABOUT the photos.
    Thank you for encouraging me to come out! So excited that I met Margie Gillis and got to hold the ladder/banner alongside you and Karen. I later gave it to a young couple so they could sit on the wet ground more comfortably. They said as soon as they sat down, with back-packs and patched clothing, people starting coming up to them and giving them things. The photos, the food, the good will, there was something un-enraged and sweet about it all. Makes me wonder, are we getting it?

  2. Pingback: 2Bmag online › Occupy/Decolonize Montréal gathers over 1,000 demonstrators - 2Bmag online

Leave a Reply

